Book Review: The Atlas of Extinct Countries



The world as we know it is constantly evolving, constantly changing, and with it, countries change. They rise and fall like the tides. This book is a humorous look at several countries, principalities, and nation-states that have been left in the rear view window for one reason or the other.


And it’s a lot of fun….



An Atlas of Extinct Countries isn’t going to win you any geography medals, but it was what I really needed right now. It’s not an atlas in how most people think of the term (although it does technically fit the definition… technically). It’s a lighthearted and unflinching look at some of the countries that used to exist… including ones in the reader’s lifetime… assuming that the reader was born prior to 2014.


The book is fun. It’s laid out as kind of an oversized obituary for the country and includes things like A Maternity Ward in Canada, Parts of Florida, Still more parts of Florida, Texas, and a whole slew of other, now defunct, countries.


The entries generally include a generalized map of the nation, how long it existed for, and how it died. You get some history, amusing commentary, and general information about the country.


The book would be perfect for fans of Rejected Princesses, How the States Got Their Shapes, and One Night Stands with American History.


It’s fun, it’s educational, it’s a great light read.

FIve Stars.



If this is your jam, you can get it here.


If you like these kind of honest reviews, please consider supporting us here!


I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley


#bookreview #fivestarreview #nonfiction #gideondefoe

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All